Finished another 11th Doctor color variant today!

UPDATE:  Exciting news, first Etsy listing is up at this link!

etsylist

ORIGINAL POST:

Not much to report today in the way of news, but I did finally finish a second color variant for the 11th Doctor (Matt Smith) from Doctor Who.  Throughout Smith’s run he wore probably 5 different iconic outfits, the first being the pink shirt with the red bow tie in his premiere episode. Exhibit A:

matt

This alternated with a similar blue bow tie, blue shirt version throughout series 5.  I think the blue first appeared in Victory of the Daleks, but also came back for Vampires of Venice and the Leadworth portion of Amy’s Choice.  Here’s Matt wearing it, and walking like a drunk giraffe:

amys-choice-3

Strangely, while the red bow tie became THE symbol for the 11th Doctor amongst fans, the toy companies seem to have latched on to the blue outfit for a lot of their products, like the Character Building micro figures…

Eleventh_doctor_blue_shirt_character_buildingMICRO11

(Just a side note, I’m handling my addiction to these stupid things in much the same way that Kurt Cobain handled the smack… PLEASE DON’T JUDGE ME! 😛 )

smack

Sorry I didn’t stop to take construction photos as I knit this one (if you want to see that, check out my 11th Doctor in pink/red because it’s exactly the same, just with different yarn).  Here is the completed product:

11thdoctorblue

And a link to the Ravelry page is here!

As I said before, the blue and red shirts with the tweed are two out of five iconic costumes the 11th Doctor wore during his run.  The third is the series 6 premiere white shirt with red bow tie, which I quite like because it’s a bit more mature of a look than the colored shirts.  I actually did knit this one for a friend’s Christmas present, but I was still in my hair experimental phase so it came out a bit flatter than I would have liked 😐

11thdoctor

The fourth is the “Let’s Kill Hitler” green coat, which I hope to someday make, because it looks great, especially with a Stetson:

greencoat

11th-Doctor-Stetson-Green-Coat

There’s also a micro figure for this one… just sayin’….

11thdoctorgreen

The last costume from Matt’s time on the show is my personal favorite, the purple “post-Ponds” coat that appeared in Bells of Saint John, was featured in Day of the Doctor, and basically stuck around until the bow tie hit the floor.

11thdoctorpurple Doctor Who – 50th Anniversary Special - The Day of the Doctor

11thdoctorbowtiehitfloor

And yes, Character Building did this one too!  But in a move that I think is frankly an odd oversight, they seem to have forgotten his bow tie?

11thmicro

Now that I think about it, I think a major reason I really enjoy collecting these figures and knitting these dolls is because I love costumes/wardrobe design so much… Doctor Who in particular has some great designs and colors, they deserve a BAFTA, in my opinion.  Anyway, I do have immediate-ish plans to knit The Doctor this outfit, meaning that I have all of the yarn bought and it’s sitting on my project table ready to go.  As always, will post when the project actually gets off the ground!  😛

3 thoughts on “Finished another 11th Doctor color variant today!

Leave a Reply

